Nurse Residency Program at St. Luke's Hospital

The Nurse Residency Program at St. Luke's Hospital in Cedar Rapids is a research-based program that offers supplemental education and support for the newly hired nurse graduate during their first year of employment as an RN. The purpose of the nurse residency program is to ease the transition from student nurse to professional nurse supporting you professionally, emotionally and socially during your first year of nursing.


  • A newly graduated nurse with less than six months of clinical experience.
  • A nurse with greater than six months of clinical experience may be required to participate per leader discretion.
Start Dates
The program is offered three times a year. You will start in either March, August or November. You will enter the section following your start date.
What to Expect
  • 4-hour monthly sessions.
  • 12-month program.
  • Active learning environment.
    • Role-play
    • Discussion
    • Reflective writing
  • Paid time to attend sessions.
  • Ongoing peer and mentor support.
  • Create and present an evidence-based or quality improvement project.
    • Individual or small group.
  • Upon completion of the Nurse Residency Program, you will be awarded 36 nursing continuing contact hours per the Iowa Board of Nursing.

Learning Experiences

The classes will be an active learning format. They will focus on application, analysis, synthesis and evaluation of information that is directly related to your role as a frontline nurse. Learning activities will include but are not limited to: reflective writing, role play, discussion, small/large group work sessions, lecture and self-reflection.

You will receive ALL of the CEUs required for your first license renewal for FREE if you attend 100 percent of the sessions.

Session TopicsANCC Accredited Practice Transition Program Logo.jpg

  1. Stress Management & Compassion Fatigue
  2. Teamwork & Communication
  3. Individualized Patient Care Delivery
  4. Quality & Safety
  5. Evidence-based Practice & Quality Improvement Process
  6. Ethical Practice
  7. End-of-Life Care
  8. Technology & Innovation
  9. Business of Health Care
  10. Professional Development & Leadership