Teresa Isaacson 2615831 photo

Teresa Isaacson, ARNP

  • Pediatrics

UnityPoint Provider

  • Hospital Affiliations:
    • Allen Memorial Hospital
  • Gender: Female
  • Languages Spoken:
    • English

About Teresa Isaacson, ARNP

Medical Education
  • Allen College: Master's of Science in Nursing
  • Undergraduate
    • University of Iowa: Bachelor's of Science in Nursing
Focus Areas
  • Pediatrics


Why did you become a physician/provider?
In my over 20 years in working as a nurse and nurse practitioner I have developed a passion for working with families. Children, in particular, can be overwhelmed by health care, and I want to create a friendly, trustworthy accessible environment for them.

As a provider, what is your medical philosophy?
In pediatrics, opportunity exists to promote health, recognize concerns early and provide intervention in a manner that actively engages families in any treatment needs. Education with parents, caregivers and children in a comfortable environment is crucial.

Why did you choose your specialty?
My nursing background includes labor and delivery, newborn and pediatric inpatient care. I realized quickly infants and children are those we can make a long-lasting impact on health. Working in pediatrics is rewarding, and families have amazing potential.

What qualities best describe the care you provide your patients?
Listening to children, parents and caregivers while including a comprehensive plan of care. Education and reinforcement is also key to build relationships of trust with families.

Being a healthcare provider, what drives/motivates you each day?
My own children. I have four, and I often stop to think about them and my own journey as a parent.

What is the most important thing patients should know about you and your practice?
I'm authentic. I see myself as a partner with parents in their child's healthcare experience. Every family and child has unique needs, and I do my best to honor that as we create plans of care and approach individual needs."

Personal Interests
Travel, reading, exercise and my children and pets