LGBTQ Clinic Earns Recognition From Trust Practice Challenge

Urgent Care - North Crossing

2134 Logan Ave.
Suite A
Waterloo, Iowa 50703

00 Patients
Waiting Now

Urgent Care - Prairie Parkway

5100 Prairie Parkway
Suite 101
Cedar Falls, Iowa 50613

00 Patients
Waiting Now

Urgent Care - San Marnan

1655 E San Marnan Dr.
Suite H
Waterloo, Iowa 50702

01 Patients
Waiting Now

Urgent Care - United Medical Park

1731 W Ridgeway Ave.
Suite 100
Waterloo, Iowa 50701

00 Patients
Waiting Now

LGBTQ Clinic Earns Recognition From Trust Practice Challenge

The ABIM Foundation recently recognized eight organizations for substantial contributions to building trust within patient, physician and health care system relationships. UnityPoint Health was recognized in part because of its LGBTQ clinic that opened in Cedar Falls in January 2018.

Winners of the ABIM Foundation’s Trust Practice Challenge include:

  • UnityPoint HealthKyle Christiason, MD, for creating a dedicated clinic program focused on primary care and special health care needs of the LGBTQ community.
  • Duke University Department of MedicineAnton Zuiker, for building greater understanding through a listening booth and podcast to facilitate conversations among clinicians, medical students, residents, staff and patients.
  • Hawai’i Pacific HealthMelinda Ashton, MD, for development of an open nomination process to identify practices and processes that should be eliminated or modified in its EHR system.
  • Johns Hopkins School of MedicineRobert Shochet, MD, for development of the Colleges Advisory Program to model positive mentoring relationships between students and faculty.
  • Mayo Clinic, Institute for Healthcare ImprovementStephen Swensen, MD, for creating a Leader Index to evaluate five key leader behaviors among clinical staff that affect performance.
  • Oregon Health & Science UniversityBrian Park, MD, for building trust across teams through a learning collaborative focused on a relational approach to leadership.
  • University of Chicago School of MedicineLolita Alkureishi, MD, for use of a graphic medicine comic strip to foster better patient-physician interaction involving electronic health records.
  • Wisconsin Collaborative for Healthcare QualityChris Queram, for creation of a data-sharing consortium of nine health systems to improve clinical performance through transparency and public reporting.

Nominations for the recognition focused on strategies or approaches to support stronger health care leadership, improved transparency and greater consideration of patient views in the design or practice settings. Winners were selected by a nationally recognized panel of clinicians, advocates, academics and senior executives with extensive experience in health care delivery.