Appointment Icon

UnityPoint Clinic Urgent Care - Sunnybrook

5885 Sunnybrook Drive
Sioux City, IA 51106

Closed Patients
Waiting Now

Sioux City Physician receives Janet M. Wee Award

Dr. Douglas Martin receiving Janet M. Wee award
Des Moines, IA: The Iowa Academy of Family Physicians (IAFP) awarded the 2014 Janet M. Wee Award to Douglas Martin, M.D. of Sioux City on November 14th in Des Moines. The award ceremony took place at the Annual Awards & Installation Banquet at the Downtown Des Moines Marriott.

The Janet M. Wee award is named after IAFP’s long-time Executive Vice President, Janet Wee. The award was created in 2004 to honor a physician who has made an outstanding contribution to further the goals of Family Medicine just as Janet contributed so much for so many years.

Dr. Martin was nominated for this award by the IAFP Board of Directors for his significant contributions to the IAFP by developing and teaching a course on the regulations pertaining to completing DOT physicals. Dr. Martin filled a major void in our state and nationwide by providing this training to family physicians and other healthcare professionals.

The IAFP statewide professional association, founded in 1948, has more than 1800 members. The organization is comprised of more than 90% of Iowa’s doctors who specialize in the practice of family medicine, the medical specialty that is concerned with the total health care of the individual and family. Family physicians are trained in many areas of medicine, including pediatrics, geriatrics, internal medicine, psychiatry, surgery, obstetrics, gynecology and community medicine. This gives them the capability to treat more than 85% of all illnesses. The IAFP is a constituent chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians, headquartered in Leawood, KS.