Appointment Icon

UnityPoint Clinic Urgent Care - Sunnybrook

5885 Sunnybrook Drive
Sioux City, IA 51106

Current Estimated Wait:

St. Luke's College Medical Laboratory Science and Phlebotomy Program Graduates 21 students

by -

Father and son Playing

St. Luke’s College – UnityPoint Health graduated 11 students from its Phlebotomy Certificate Program and 10 students from the Sioux City Medical Laboratory Science Program during summer graduation ceremonies. 

St. Luke’s College and Mercy Medical Center sponsor a cooperative medical laboratory science clinical education program. Students are accepted into this program after completing at least 90 hours of course work at their respective college or university.

The 10 graduates have successfully completed a 12-month program of classroom and medical laboratory experience. Six graduates received their clinical experience at UnityPoint Health – St. Luke’s and four at Mercy Medical Center.

The six St. Luke’s College Medical Laboratory Science Program graduates are: Elizabeth Cvrk of Sioux City, IA; Rebecca DeGray of Grasston, MN; Justin Lehman of Colorado Springs, CO; Rosemary Maxwell of Marinette, WI; Ryan Pflughaupt of Seward, NE; Dale Van Den Top of Rock Valley, IA.

The four Mercy Medical Center graduates are: Andy Iversen and Stephanie Mefferd of Ida Grove, IA; Elizabeth Mangan of Sioux City, IA; Seraphine Ngang of Minneapolis, MN.

The College’s Phlebotomy Certificate Program includes both classroom and clinical experiences. The classroom component consists of phlebotomy theory and principles and incorporates techniques through hands-on activities. Students also complete 120 hours of supervised clinical experience at St. Luke’s, Mercy Medical Center and other area health care agencies. Upon successful completion of the program, students are eligible to take national certifying examinations.

Students graduating from the Phlebotomy Certificate Program include: Cynthia Alavez, Sioux City, IA; Antony Dempsey, Ames, IA; Adriana Gutierrez, S. Sioux City, NE; Sarah Hedges, Aberdeen, SD; Jessica Johnson, N. Sioux City, SD; Alexandria Leach, Jefferson, SD; Carol Mairose, Le Mars, IA; Nancy Nguyen, Sioux City, IA; Matthew Nieland, Auburn, IA; Kristi Shetler, Le Mars, IA; and Ting Wang, Hartington, NE.