Trinity receives Primary Stroke Center Certification
Appointment Icon

UnityPoint Clinic Kenyon Road - Walk-In

800 Kenyon Road
Suite R
Fort Dodge, Iowa 50501

Closed Patients
Waiting Now

UnityPoint Health - Trinity Regional Medical Center Receives Primary Stroke Center Certification

by -

Fort Dodge, IA – UnityPoint Health - Trinity Regional Medical Center received Primary Stroke Center Certification (PSC) from DNV Healthcare. In order to receive this certification Trinity is required to meet the standards set by DNV hospital accreditation (based on NIAHOSM standards), which also incorporate the guidelines included in the CMS Conditions of Participation for hospitals (CoPs), ISO 9001:2008 Quality Management System Requirements, the Guidelines of the Brain Attack Coalition, and recommendations of the American Stroke Association.

Hospitals seeking and maintaining a Primary Stroke Center must participate in the Medicare program and be in compliance with the CoPs which may be demonstrated by maintaining accreditation with DNV or another CMS-approved accreditation organization.

“Receiving Primary Stroke Center Certification from DNV is a testament to the quality of Trinity’s stroke program and represents a tremendous team effort by physicians and staff across many different areas of the hospital,” said Mike Dewerff, UnityPoint Health - Fort Dodge President and CEO. “Our community also plays an important role in the success of this program. Awareness of stroke signs and symptoms are crucial to a stroke victim’s outcome. Just as time is muscle for a heart attack victim, for a stroke patient, time is brain. The amount of time that passes before a stroke victim receives medical attention plays a significant role in the patient’s outcome.”

DNV Healthcare determined Trinity Regional Medical Center’s compliance with the Primary Stroke Center requirements through observations, interviews, and documentation review. During the Primary Stroke Center certification audit, DNV:
• Reviewed actual and potential patient outcomes, as well as required processes
• Assessed the care and services provided, including the appropriateness of the care and services within the context of the certification requirements
• Visited patient care settings, including inpatient units, outpatient settings, emergency department, imaging, rehabilitation, etc. associated with the PSC
• Reviewed clinical records, staff records, and other documentation necessary to validate information gained from observations and interviews

Trinity Regional Medical Center is one of only seventeen Iowa hospitals to receive Primary Stroke Center certification.