Sue Thompson appointed to MedPAC by US Government
Appointment Icon

UnityPoint Clinic Kenyon Road - Walk-In

800 Kenyon Road
Suite R
Fort Dodge, Iowa 50501

Closed Patients
Waiting Now

Sue Thompson First Iowan Appointed to Congressional Commission

by -

Sue Thompson

Sue Thompson, Chief Executive Officer of UnityPoint Health – Fort Dodge, was recently appointed to the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC) by the U.S. Government Accountability Office. She will serve an initial three-year term, and was the only new commission member selected, as well as the only Iowan ever appointed to MedPAC.

“I am honored to be appointed to MedPAC and look forward to the opportunity to provide input into policy affecting health care,” Thompson said.

In addition to her role as CEO for UnityPoint Health – Fort Dodge, Thompson serves as Senior Vice President of Integration and Optimization with UnityPoint Health. She previously served in successive clinical and management positions at Trinity Regional Medical Center in Fort Dodge. She obtained her Bachelor of Science in Nursing and her Master of Science in Health Services Management from Clarkson College in Omaha, Nebraska.

“Sue has unique qualifications to excel as a commissioner,” said Bill Leaver, President and Chief Executive Officer of UnityPoint Health. “Not only does she have clinical and health care executive experience; she also has the ability to see what the future of health care delivery should look like and the fortitude to bring others along with her. Her addition to the commission brings a rural perspective, which is crucial at a time when changing how rural health care providers are reimbursed is a keen focus of policymakers.”

MedPAC, a nonpartisan agency established in 1997, advises Congress on payments to health plans participating in the Medicare Advantage program and providers in Medicare’s traditional fee-for-service programs. The Comptroller General, Gene L. Dodaro, is responsible for naming new commission members, reappointing members and designating the Commission’s Chair.