Dr. Alex Horchak Presented with Dr. John Finley Award

Dr. Alex Horchak Presented with Dr. John Finley Award

by -

On March 30, in celebration of Doctors’ Day, David Brandon, President and CEO of UnityPoint Health Finley Hospital, presented Alex Horchak, M.D. with the Dr. John Finley Excellence in Medicine Award.  The excellence in medicine award was created to recognize overall excellence in medical care by a physician who embodies the mission, vision and values of Finley Hospital as selected by their physician, board and hospital colleagues.

A urologist with UnityPoint Clinic Urology, Dr. Horchak was clearly and passionately nominated because of his commitment to Finley’s mission, vision and values. With over 20 years of experience, Dr. Horchak specializes in urologic disorders affecting both men and women.  

“We have an exceptional care team at Finley Hospital, which makes it a difficult task to select just one individual to receive this award,” said Brandon. “At Finley, we pride ourselves on the impressive number of physicians who personify our mission, vision, and values on a daily basis – again, making the task of selecting only one award recipient very difficult year after year. However, the nomination for Dr. Horchak provides explicit examples of how he truly embodies Finley’s mission, vision and values.”

During the award presentation, UnityPoint Clinic Urology staff members spoke to Dr. Horchak’s commitment to patients, leadership, clinical skill and knowledge. 

Brandon added, “Dr. Horchak consistently devotes himself to researching new and reliable information to share with his team for the sake of improving the wellbeing of patients. Dedicated to bringing the most innovative urology practices and procedures to Finley Hospital, Dr. Horchak strives to provide the Best Outcome Every Patient, Every Time throughout the Dubuque and Tri-State communities..”  

The Dr. John Finley Excellence in Medicine Award was started in 2014 with the first recipient being Dr. John Viner.  Dr. Ronald Schope and Dr. Ronald Iverson were the 2015 and 2016 recipients respectively.  All winners are highlighted on a plaque at the main entrance of Finley.