The Coskery Award

The Coskery Award

UnityPoint Health – Des Moines is rooted in philanthropy. Philanthropic generosity played a critical role in the establishment of Iowa Lutheran, Iowa Methodist and Methodist West Hospitals. A Night of Blue and White honors that tradition by presenting our highest award, the Coskery Award for Philanthropy, at the event. Named after the Coskery family, whose generosity changed the trajectory of all three hospitals, the Coskery Award for Philanthropy recognizes and honors philanthropic leadership in time, talent and charitable support.

We are thrilled to award this year's Coskery Award for Philanthropy to Susan Evans in recognition of her leadership support, gift of time and talent, and commitment to mission.


Previous Coskery Award Recipients

1992 Pearle L. Bowlsby*, Roscoe Riemenschneider*
1993 Dr. Robert & Ruth Reed*
1994 Dr. Verne L. & Eleanor Schlaser*
1995 Nellie Osterlund*
1996 Iowa Lutheran Hospital Auxiliary
1997 Ruth C. & John C. Hunt*
1998 Dorothy & Chaplain Earl V. Nelson*
1999 Margaret B. Swanson*
2000 Margaret J. Owens*
2001 Joann & Bill* Jensen
2002 Nellie C. Stewart*
2003 Joanne Mahaffey
2004 Iowa Heart Center
2005 Anderson Erickson Dairy
2006 The Iowa Clinic, P.C.
2007 Dr. Larry & Lori Baker
2008 Josephs Jewelers
2009 Dr. John C. & Karen Heffernan
2010 Iowa Lutheran Hospital Auxiliary's 100th Anniversary
2011 Dr. Tim & Jane Hart
2012 UnityPoint Health - Des Moines Medical Staff
2013 Des Moines Orthopaedic Surgeons, P.C.
2014 Iowa Lutheran Hospital Staff
2015 Variety - the Children's Charity
2016 Nancy & Scott Shafer
2017 Iowa Lutheran Hospital Behavioral Health Team
2018 Eric Crowell
2019 Iowa Radiology, P.C.
2020 Dr. Doug Dorner & Carole Villeneuve
2021 Dr. John & Ann Ghrist