UnityPoint Health - Des Moines | General Surgery Residency Program

Previous Topics & Speakers

Minimally Invasive, Robotic & Hernia Surgery 2018

  •  David Coster, M.D. - Surgical Associates, LLP, General and Bariatric Surgery, Grinnell, IA
  • Michael Liang, M.D. - Assistant Professor of Surgery, University of Texas, Houston, TX
  • Robert Martindale, M.D., Ph.D. - Professor and Chief of Surgery, Oregon Health & Sciences University, Portland, OR
  • Curtis Peery, M.D. - Clinical Assistant Professor, University of South Dakota School of Medicine, Sanford Surgical Associates, Sanford Health General & Bariatric Surgery, Sioux Falls, SD

Trauma 2017

  •  Megan Brenner, M.D. - University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD
  • Bellal Joseph, M.D. - University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
  • Heather Osterbrink, M.D. - Greater Regional Medical Center, Creston, IA
  • Carlos Pelaez, M.D. - The Iowa Clinic, Iowa Methodist Medical Center, Des Moines, IA
  • Richard Sidwell, M.D. - The Iowa Clinic, Iowa Methodist Medical Center, Des Moines, IA
  • Brett Waibel, M.D. - University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE
  • Scott Zietlow, M.D. - Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

Breast Surgery 2016

  • Charles Cox, M.D. CEO - McCann Foundation Endowed Professor of Breast Surgery, Tampa, FL
  • Ann Heun, M.S.,CGC - Blank Children's Hospital, John Stoddard Cancer Center, Des Moines, IA
  • Amy Hughes, D.O. - Medical Oncologist, John Stoddard Cancer Center, MOHA—UPH DM, Des Moines, IA
  • Konstantino Lekkas, M.D., FACS - The Iowa Clinic West Des Moines Campus, West Des Moines, IA
  • Rachel Preisser, M.D. - Medical Imaging, The Iowa Clinic West Des Moines Campus, West Des Moines, IA
  • Arshin Sheybani, M.D. - John Stoddard Cancer Center—UPH DM, Des Moines, IA
  • Stephanie Valente, D.O. - Director, Breast Fellowship Program, Cleveland Clinic, Assistant Professor of Surgery Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine, Cleveland, OH

 Colon and Rectal Surgery 2015

  • Jeffrey Albright, M.D, FACS - Birmingham Surgical PC, General Surgery, Colon & Rectal Surgery, Birmingham, AL
  • Garnet Blatchford, M.D., FACS - Colon & Rectal Surgery, Inc.,Omaha, NE
  • Sean Lagenfeld, M.D., FACS - University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE
  • Matthew Mutch, M.D., FACS - Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO
  • Jan Rakinic, M.D., FACS, FSCRS - Southern Illinois University, Springfield, IL
  • Michael Snyder, M.D., FACS - University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston,  Houston, TX
  • Cinnamon Sullivan, M.D. - Emory University Hospital,  Atlanta, GA

Surgical Oncology 2014

  • Qasiim Chaudhry, MD - The Iowa Clinic Transplant & Hepatobiliary Surgery, Des Moines, IA
  • John M. Kane, III, MD, FACS - Roswell Park Cancer Institute, Buffalo, NY
  • Thomas Miner, MD - Rhode Island Hospital, Providence, RI
  • Wesley Papenfuss, MD - Roswell Park Cancer Institute, Buffalo, NY
  • Rory Smoot, MD - Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
  • Mark Truty, MD - MD Anderson Cancer Institute, Rochester, MN

Endocrine Surgery 2013

  • James Broome, MD, FACS - Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN
  • Herbert Chen, MD, FACS - University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI
  • David Schneider, MD, MS, FACS - University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI
  • Prashanth Sekhar, MD - The Iowa Clinic-Endocrinology, Des Moines, IA

Minimally Invasive Surgery 2012

  • Sharon Bachman, MD, University of Missouri, Hospitals and Clinics, Columbia, MO
  • Paul Curcillo, II, MD, Fox Chase Cancer Center, Philadelphia, PA
  • Jonathan Dort, MD, Inova Fairfax Hospital, Falls Church, VA
  • Jon Gabrielsen, MD, Geisinger Medical Center, Danville, PA
  • Teresa LaMasters, MD, Iowa Health Weight Loss Specialists, West Des Moines, IA
  • Samuel Szomstein, MD, Cleveland Clinic - Florida, Weston, FL
  • Alan Thorson, MD, Creighton University, Omaha, NE

Breast Surgery 2011

  • Peter Beitsch, MD, UT Southwestern Medical School, Dallas, TX
  • Amy Degnim, MD, Mayo Clinic - Rochester, Rochester, MN
  • Stephen Edge, MD, State University of New York, at Buffalo, Buffalo, NY
  • Jeffrey Landercasper, MD, University of Wisconsin, LaCrosse, WI
  • Eleftherios Mamounas, MD, MHP, Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine
  • Kimberly Van Zee, MD, Weill Medical College of Cornell University, New York, NY

Trauma/Critical Care 2010

  • Kenneth Azatrow, MD, University of Nebraska Medical Center & Children's Hospital & Medical Center, Omaha, NE
  • Kenji Inaba, MD, University of California, Keck School of Medicine, Los Angeles, CA
  • James Kessel, MD, University of Missouri Health Care, Columbia, MO
  • Mark Sawyer, MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
  • Richard Sidwell, MD, Iowa Methodist Medical Center, General Surgery Residency, Des Moines, IA
  • R. Stephen Smith, MD, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine, Roanoke, VA

Colorectal Speakers 2009

  • Richard M. Devine, MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
  • Charles P. Heise, MD, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine & Public Health, Madison, WI
  • Bruce A. Orkin, MD, The George Washington University, Washington, DC
  • Nicholas J. Petrelli, MD, Christiana Care Health System, Newark, DE
  • Kyle E. Rogers, MD, The Iowa Clinic, Surgery, P.C., Des Moines, IA
  • Anthony J. Senagore, MD, Michigan State University/CHM, Grand Rapids, MI

Oncology Speakers 2008

  • Clifford S. Cho, MD, University of Wisconsin Hospitals & Clinics, Madison, WI
  • Mark D. Iannettoni, MD, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, Iowa City, IA
  • Michael L. Kendrick, MD, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, Rochester, MN
  • Angela Sandre, DO, Medical Oncology & Hematology Associates, Des Moines, IA
  • Kevin F. Staveley-O'Carroll, MD, Penn State College of Medicine, Hershey, PA
  • Paul H. Sugarbaker, MD, Washington Hospital Center, Washington, D.C.

Endocrine Disease Speakers 2007

  • Anju Bhargava, MD, Iowa Diabetes & Endocrinology Center, Des Moines, IA
  • Clive Grant, MD, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, Rochester, MN
  • Daniel Kollmorgen, MD, Iowa Methodist Medical Center & The Iowa Clinic, Des Moines, IA
  • Geeta Lal, MD, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, Iowa City, IA
  • Richard Prinz, MD, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, IL
  • Geoffrey Thompson, MD, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, Rochester, MN

Hernia Speakers 2006

  • James R. DeBord, MD, Peoria Surgical Group, Peoria, IL
  • Robert J. Fitzgibbons, Jr., MD, Creighton University School of Medicine, Omaha, NE
  • Donald E. Fry, MD, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM
  • Michael S. Irish, MD, Blank Children's Hospital, Des Moines, IA
  • Robert D. Kugel, MD, Hernia Treatment Center, Olympia, WA
  • Frederick S. Nuss, MD, The Iowa Clinic West Lakes, West Des Moines, IA
  • Guy R. Voeller, MD, Mid-South Center for Minimally Invasive Surgery, Memphis, TN