History of UnityPoint Health | Making a Difference in Iowa

UnityPoint Clinic Urgent Care - Altoona

02 Patients
Waiting Now

UnityPoint Clinic Urgent Care - Ingersoll

04 Patients
Waiting Now

Urgent Care - Ankeny

01 Patients
Waiting Now

Urgent Care - Lakeview

05 Patients
Waiting Now

Urgent Care - Merle Hay

06 Patients
Waiting Now

Urgent Care - Southglen

04 Patients
Waiting Now

Urgent Care - Urbandale

00 Patients
Waiting Now
UnityPoint Health - Des Moines

A Rich History

Iowa Health System (IHS), the nation's fifth largest non-denominational health system, is now UnityPoint Health, a new name that reflects the way its hospitals, physicians and home care entities are transforming health care delivery through patient-centered coordinated care. This overall system name also includes the former Iowa Health Physicians & Clinics (now UnityPoint Clinic), and Iowa Health Home Care (now UnityPoint at Home and UnityPoint Hospice.)

Together in Central Iowa, Iowa Methodist; Iowa Lutheran; Blank Children's Hospital; Methodist West Hospital; John Stoddard Cancer Center; UnityPoint Clinic - Central Iowa; and UnityPoint at Home form UnityPoint Health - Des Moines.

In 1993, UnityPoint Health got its start here in Des Moines, when Iowa Methodist and Iowa Lutheran merged to form Iowa Health. At the time, the merger created the state's largest provider of hospital and related health services. Since then, UnityPoint Health has grown to encompass eight major geographic regions in Iowa and Illinois.

This change symbolizes the difference between the former hospital-centered health care process to one that more effectively addressed the total care of all patients, whether they were at a clinic, a hospital or home. The move to a physician-led organization focusing on patient care coordination is ongoing.

More Than 24,000 Strong

Today, UnityPoint Health is one of the nation's most integrated health systems. Through relationships with more than 900 physicians and providers working in more than 280 UnityPoint Clinics, 29 hospitals in metropolitan and rural communities and home care services throughout its eight regions, UnityPoint Health provides care throughout Iowa, Illinois and Wisconsin. The eight regions within UnityPoint Health (named for the largest city within that region) are:

  • Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Des Moines, IA
  • Dubuque, IA
  • Fort Dodge, IA
  • Peoria, IL
  • The Quad Cities
  • Sioux City, IA
  • Waterloo, IA