National Heart Care Awards | UnityPoint - Cedar Rapids

Heart Care Awards

St. Luke's Heart Care is acknowledged as one of the finest cardiac specialty centers in the nation. A few of the awards and recognition we've received include:

50 Top Cardiovascular Hospitals

Our reputation has been independently confirmed SIX times by a study conducted Truven Health Analytics.  Truven's study measures performance in key performance areas: risk-adjusted mortality, risk-adjusted complications, core measures, percentage of bypass patients with internal mammary artery use, 30-day mortality and readmission rates and more. This recognition supports our reputation and our mission to provide the best outcome for every patient, every time.

St. Luke's Receives American College of Cardiology NCDR ACTION Registry Platinum Award recognizes high standards of patient care

For the sixth year in a row, St. Luke's has received this prestigious recognition. In 2018, St. Luke's is one of only 203 hospitals nationwide to receive the honor. The award recognizes our commitment and success in implementing a higher standard of care for heart attack patients and signifies that we have reached an aggressive goal of treating these patients to standard levels of care as outlined by the American College of Cardiology.

Becker's Top 100 Hospitals with Great Heart Programs

St. Luke's Named to Becker's list of 100 Hospitals & Health Systems with Great Heart Programs
Becker's Hospital Review has published the 2015-16 edition of its "100 Hospitals and Health Systems With Great Heart Programs" list. 

Top 100 Hospital

Top 100 Hospital St. Luke's has been rated as one of the nation's Top 100 Hospitals six times. St. Luke's earned this award in 2014, 2013, 2012, 2009, 2005 and 2004. We are the only hospital in Eastern Iowa that has earned this distinction 6 times.

The Joint Commission

The Joint Commission is the accrediting organization that reviews and certifies healthcare organizations in the United States for meeting certain performance standards. St. Luke's has earned the Gold Seal of Approvalâ„¢ for Disease-Specific Care Certification from The Joint Commission for its heart failure program. St. Luke's has also been recertified as a Primary Stroke Center.

Stroke Silver Performance Achievement Award

St. Luke's has been awarded the American Stroke Association's Get With The Guidelines Stroke Silver Performance Achievement Award at the association's International Stroke Conference. The award recognizes
St. Luke's commitment and success in implementing a higher standard of stroke care by ensuring that stroke patients receive treatment according to nationally accepted standards and recommendations.

Blue Distinction Center for Cardiac Care

St. Luke's has been selected as a Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association (BCBSA) Blue Distinction Center for Cardiac Care. Blue Distinction is the BCBSA's nationwide program for specialty care that identifies quality providers of cardiac care as established by expert physician panels and national organizations. By meeting these requirements, St. Luke's demonstrates better outcomes and consistency of care, and provide greater value for plan members.

Bronze Performance Achievement Award

St. Luke's has received the Get With The Guidelines Heart Failure Bronze Performance Achievement Award from the American Heart Association. The recognition signifies that St. Luke's has reached an aggressive goal of treating heart failure patients for at least 90 days with 85% compliance to core standard levels of care outlined by the American Heart Association/American College of Cardiology secondary prevention guidelines for heart failure patients.